Wow some crazy info in here. Best Match. bring on the ase engineers! Temperature: -30~200°C. I need something heavier than 7wt BMW fork oil. I have found that the aftermarket oil temperature gauge/dipstick for Yamaha SR/XT 500s fits the F-650 perfectly and the dipstick mark is even correct. I didn't want to continually dick around with fork oil height and weight and their system did the trick. I've heard things like automatic transmission fluid, and synthetic motor oil. Lv 5. AS it ages, its efficacy diminishes over time. I use fork oil in the motor and motor oil in the forks. For some reason the bike runs funny. Motorcycle Fork Oil; Skip to page navigation. Compare Refine. Using Spectro fork oils for as a comparison, you can see that Mobile 1 Synthetic ATF equates to roughly a weight of roughly 11W fork oil. does anyone use anything other than "fork oil" in their forks? I assume damping is linear with viscosity but I'm not a mechanical engineer, so I am not sure. I am doing a service/upgrade on my front forks and cannot find "fork oil"..Is there another type of oil that I can use that will work and in what weight would be suitable??? BTW, if you decide to use fork oil you can mix any of the different weights of Bel-Ray Fork Oil to fine tune the forks from very light to very heavy or anywhere in between to suit your particular riding style, weight, etc. I have had a gallon of NON-detergent 15 wgt motor oil for 30 years. Most suspension units use approximately a 5Wt (SAE). IS FORK OIL AN OIL OR A FLUID? That’s why my thought was 10W40 engine oil, cos at least whilst it’s cool it has a similar viscosity to 10W fork oil. but in my 00 cr250 i was thinking about swaping the fork oil and gear box oil to AFT, just because i am tunring into a cheap C**T. And bel-ray gear oil is $15 a quart up here in canada. I just replaced my fork springs with Wilbers and they recommend 7.5wt fork oil. Share this post. I think the bel-ray fork oil is close to 20 bucks a quart. I use fork o