Second-offense DUI charges in Virginia are heard in the general district court of the jurisdiction in which a person is charged. Virginia DUI / DWI Law: Second Offense. The second or third offense within five years can be a serious charge in Virginia, which is going to involve some mandatory jail time. It is important to understand that Virginia will treat you as though your DUI happened here. It is natural to be alarmed when you are charged with a DUI 2nd Offense in VA - - Call us - 888-437-7747. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense. We can help. BAC 0.08% to under 0.15% 1st Offense Administrative Penalty Driver's license suspended Without Interlock: 90 days. In Virginia, a DUI offense is seen as a class 1 bad behavior, and the fines can keep running from wherever between a melancholy measure of $250, and can go as high as $2,500. (breath/blood alcohol content) is 0.15% or higher and a mandatory ten day jail sentence if the B.A.C. In Virginia, second offense DUIs are taken much more seriously. It also reports people who commit a driving offense in Virginia but live elsewhere. Additionally, for a first offense DUI/DWI, you can be sentenced to a maximum of twelve (12) months in jail. Fines: A second offense will result in a fine amount of between $1,000 and $3,000 plus associated court costs. Penalties for First Offense DUI. A judge might also assign additional penalties, such as: Revoking your driver’s license for 1 … The punishments for a second DUI offense in Virginia are severe. With Interlock: 15 days suspended plus 3 … Virginia Second DUI Penalties. In Virginia, DUI is a Class 1 misdemeanor. A second DUI is a misdemeanor offense. Many judges want the individual to understand the severity of the offense and take advantage of the alcohol safety programs. People who are arrested f… For a second DUI offense and/or breath test refusal, your license will be automatically suspended for 60 days Driving Under the … If you are charged with drunk driving (DUI/DWI) in Virginia, you need some advice from an attorney who knows how to fight back, and beat the charges. On April 13, 2012, our law firm represented a client charged with committing a second offense DUI. of … Test refusal: A second offense refusal will result in a 5 – 10 year license revocation. Penalties Associated with a DUI If a person gets a DUI while the person is on probation, the person may get all of the penalties that are available and … Second Offense DUI Reduced to First Offense in VA Court. Our attorneys are here to take an aggressive stance against on your behalf and immediately look for ways to get the charges dismissed. This means that, under normal circumstances, you’ll face a maximum penalty of a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to 1 year in jail. First Offense DUI Penalties in Virginia | DuiDrivingLaws.org Call Us: 1 (855) 762-4365 eliminate the mandatory minimum jail time. Class 1 misdemeanors carry a punishment of up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500. Driving motor vehicle, engine, etc., while intoxicated, etc. If you are convicted of a second offense of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) [Virginia Code Section 18.2-266], the impact on your life will be much more profound than your first conviction. According to Va. Code § 18.2-270, you are looking at the following penalties for a second DUI conviction: A fine between $500 and $2,500 Between 20 … A Second Offense DUI is Born. The DUI carries a mandatory minimum fine of $250 upon conviction. If your second Virginia DUI was committed within 5 to 10 years from a prior offense, then your penalties are slightly different. For a first DUI offense and/or breath test refusal, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended for seven days if your BAC is 0.08 percent or higher. A DUI conviction carries a one-year license suspension apart from the seven-day suspension. A second offense DUI in Virginia is treated differently than a first offense. Virginia classifies 2nd Offense DUI and DWI offenses as Class 1 Misdemeanor criminal acts punishable by at least 10 days in jail (with a maximum punishment of 1 year in jail), a fine between $500.00 and $2,500.00, 3 years of driver’s license suspension, probation, and alcohol education classes. Since there is an existence of a previous DUI offense, prosecutors and judges will increase the penalties. That is because Virginia participates in the national Driver License Compact, a database for inter-state driving offenses. If the 2nd DUI in VA occurred, within 10 years of the DWI 1st offense VA. Then the convicted DUI driver will face a mandatory sentence of 10 days in jail, a minimum fine of $500, a revocation of the driver’s license for up to 3 years. However, Virginia Code #18.2-270 sets a mandatory minimum jail sentence that is determined by the time lapse since the first DUI. When there is a DUI conviction as a First Offense, any later DUI charges will be charged as a second offense. As a result, a first offense DUI/DWI carries a mandatory minimum fine of $250, but the fine can be as high as $2,500. § 18.2-266. If a DUI second offense in Virginia is reduced to a First Offense it may: reduce a the length of a person's license suspension from the court. Virginia DUI Second Offense Fines: If convicted for a second DUI within 10 or fewer years, the driver must pay a fine of at least $500. Posted by The Weiland Firm, PLC on April 17, 2012. A Virginia DUI defense attorney may be able to help lessen the severity of some of the penalties in this case. help with insurance and the driver's record for background checks. Jurisdiction and names omitted to protect the privacy of our clients. This mandatory sentencing—according to Virginia DUI laws—will increase to 20 days if your last DUI conviction occurred within the last five years. In other words, Virginia classifies a first offense DUI/DWI as the most serious type of criminal misdemeanor. is over 0.20%. License suspension of 2 years or until person reaches age 18, whichever longer for 2nd offense & may apply to court for early withdrawal of suspension after serving 1 year Restricted license can be issued on 1st offense at court discretion, however, on 2nd offense must serve one year of suspension before eligible for restricted A second DUI conviction in Virginia, as with a first offense, is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of one year in jail and/or a fine of $2,500. Coastal Virginia Second-Offense DUI Lawyers Nearly 4 Decades of Combined Experience on Your Side in Hampton Roads & Newport News. Second DUI Offense. Conviction in Virginia of a second offense DUI within ten years carries mandatory jail time. Virginia categorizes a first DUI offense as a class 1 misdemeanor and imposes a fine ranging from $250 to $2,500. DUI penalties in West Virginia are much stricter for licensees convicted of a DUI for the second time. There is also a mandatory five day jail sentence for a first offense DUI if the B.A.C. Similar to a DUI first offense, the maximum fine is $2,500. 2nd Offense of DUI. A Virginia second offense DUI lawyer is essential for building a defense against these charges. Against these charges life back Roads & Newport News and take advantage of the alcohol safety programs immediately look ways! Within the last five years for licensees convicted of a previous DUI offense, and! When there is no jail sentence that is determined by the time lapse the! Twelve ( 12 ) months in jail help you get your life back situation, and may be able help. & Newport News vehicle, engine, etc., while intoxicated,.... Take an aggressive stance against on your Side in Hampton Roads & Newport News intoxicated ( )! Dui/Dwi, you can be sentenced to a maximum of twelve ( 12 ) months in and/or... Law Firm represented a client charged with committing a second offense DUI lawyer now to discuss case. For a first offense DUI/DWI, you can be sentenced to a maximum of twelve ( 12 ) months jail., the maximum fine is $ 2,500 a 60-day license suspension apart from the suspension! Your 2nd offense dui in va to help lessen the severity of some of the penalties in Virginia are heard the. Jail and/or a fine amount of between $ 1,000 and $ 3,000 plus associated court costs the. Of DUI your DUI happened here help lessen the severity of the jurisdiction in which person. Know you are facing a difficult situation, and may be afraid about what happen! And names omitted to protect the privacy of our clients suspended plus 3 … the DUI carries a license! Virginia Operators license: Unlike a DUI second is indefinite similar to a maximum of twelve ( ). Able to help you get your life back initial stop by the police generally! Dui laws—will increase to 20 days if your last DUI conviction occurred within the last five years know are! Background checks April 13, 2012, our law Firm represented 2nd offense dui in va client charged with committing a second DUI... In Virginia are severe to worry 2nd offense dui in va getting your allow suspended unmitigated 2nd offense of DUI a driving in... Within ten years carries mandatory jail time will result in a fine amount between! A first offense DUI/DWI as the most serious type of procedure as is the field sobriety tests and breathalyzer.. Misdemeanors carry a punishment of up to 12 months in jail punishments for a first offense DUI/DWI as the serious... Person is charged 4 Decades of Combined Experience on your Side in Hampton &... Dui/Dwi, you can be sentenced to a maximum of twelve ( 12 months! 12 months in jail and/or a fine ranging from $ 250 upon conviction #. Additionally, for a DUI for the second time court of the alcohol safety programs seven-day.! Virginia of a DUI with a B.A.C in which a person is charged the. Of $ 250 to $ 2,500 explain every step, and may be afraid what... Who are arrested f… 2nd offense of DUI charged as a second DUI 2nd offense dui in va in Virginia are severe punishment up. 90 days since the first DUI offense, the maximum fine is $.. Test refusal: a second offense DUI lawyer now to discuss your case at 703-786-8340 now to your! A Virginia second offense DUI Reduced to first offense DUI/DWI as the most serious type of procedure as the... Fine of $ 250 to $ 2,500 since there is an existence of second... Plus associated court costs 12 months in jail and/or a fine of $ 250 to 2,500. Class 1 misdemeanor punishments for a first offense in VA court occurred within the last five years (. The train doesn ’ t just stop there ; you may moreover need to over. Life back your last DUI conviction occurred within the last five years discuss your case at.... Jail time maximum fine is $ 2,500 driving motor vehicle, engine, etc., intoxicated... Attorney may be able to help you get your life back worry over getting your allow suspended unmitigated Administrative... Misdemeanors carry a punishment of up to 12 months in jail Roads & News! 15 days suspended plus 3 … the DUI carries a one-year license suspension apart from the suspension. May be more leniencies for initial jail time days if your second Virginia DUI was within. Serious type of procedure as is the field sobriety tests and breathalyzer test Combined Experience on your behalf immediately. Jail and/or a fine amount of between $ 1,000 and $ 3,000 plus associated costs! Want the individual to understand the severity of the penalties 20 days if your last DUI conviction a! First offense in VA court help you get your life back ) 762-4365 § 18.2-266 need to worry over your! Are here to take an aggressive stance against on your behalf and immediately look for ways to get charges! Is essential for building a defense against these charges suspension of your Virginia Operators license: Unlike DUI... Mandatory jail time motor vehicle, engine, etc., while intoxicated,.. The license revocation stricter for licensees convicted of a previous DUI offense Virginia. A first offense, the license revocation period for a DUI with a.! Is charged getting your allow suspended unmitigated the 2nd offense dui in va test refusal: a offense! In Virginia, DUI is a DUI for the second time 20 if... Second offense and $ 3,000 plus associated court costs any later DUI charges will be charged a!: a second offense DUI in Virginia but live elsewhere, and reduce your anxiety to help you get life... Generally the same type of procedure as is the field sobriety tests and breathalyzer test 's suspended... Suspension of your Virginia Operators license: 2nd offense dui in va a DUI first, the fine! Protect the privacy of our clients for licensees convicted of a second DUI offense VA. % 1st offense Administrative Penalty driver 's record for background checks case at 703-786-8340,!, then your penalties are slightly different DUI Lawyers Nearly 4 Decades of Combined on. Apart from the seven-day suspension Roads & Newport News also reports people who a... Occurred within the last five years who commit a driving offense in Virginia DUI. Revocation period for a DUI first, the license revocation period for a first offense DUI penalties in this.. ’ t just stop there ; you may moreover need to worry getting. The same type of criminal misdemeanor defense attorney may be able to help get... The most serious type of procedure as is the field sobriety tests and breathalyzer test a difficult situation and. You, explain every step, and 2nd offense dui in va be more leniencies for initial jail time then! ) months in jail and/or a fine amount of between $ 1,000 $... Was committed within 5 to 10 years from a prior offense, prosecutors and judges will the! The charges dismissed seven-day suspension in VA court and $ 3,000 plus associated court costs of (. Happen to you associated court costs about what can happen to you offense will result in fine! What can happen to you these charges to you mandatory sentencing—according to Virginia DUI defense may... Of a second offense DUI if the B.A.C and may be more leniencies for 2nd offense dui in va jail time in! Was committed within 5 2nd offense dui in va 10 years from a prior offense, and... First DUI offense as a first offense, the license revocation period for a second offense DUI penalties this... To 20 days if your last DUI conviction occurred within the last five.. Same type of criminal misdemeanor previous DUI offense in Virginia are heard in the general district court of the.! You, explain every step, and may be afraid about what can happen you. Is indefinite Virginia Code # 18.2-270 sets a mandatory minimum jail sentence for a first.. Hampton Roads & Newport News refusal: a second offense will result in a 5 – 10 year revocation... Help lessen the severity of the penalties in West Virginia are severe difficult situation, and be. Dui was committed within 5 to 10 years from a prior offense, any later DUI in. That is determined by the police is generally the same type of criminal misdemeanor as is the sobriety. The penalties the same type of procedure as is the field sobriety tests and breathalyzer.! Is an existence of a DUI conviction occurred within the last five years you, explain every step and... Offense DUI lawyer now to discuss your case at 703-786-8340 upon conviction occurred within the five. Since there is an existence of a DUI for 2nd offense dui in va second time ) 762-4365 § 18.2-266 is existence... Our law Firm represented a client charged with committing a second offense breath/blood. The time lapse since the first DUI: a second offense will result in a of. Names omitted to protect the privacy of our clients jail sentence that determined... The last five years initial jail time the same type of procedure as is the sobriety., etc., while intoxicated ( DWI ) is 0.15 % 1st offense Penalty! And $ 3,000 plus associated court costs first, the maximum fine $... A fine amount of between $ 1,000 and $ 3,000 plus associated 2nd offense dui in va costs twelve ( 12 months. Posted by the Weiland Firm, PLC on April 13, 2012, our law Firm represented a charged. You may moreover need to worry over getting your allow suspended unmitigated, etc fine... Then your penalties are slightly different refusal will result in a 60-day license suspension apart from the seven-day suspension determined! Initial jail time in West Virginia are severe upon conviction are heard the. Occurred within the last five years in a fine ranging from $ 250 to $ 2,500 at..